Posted by: Queenie Extraordinaire | June 28, 2007

Wavy, Straight or Curly: Digit Delivers

Digit Darkes is a real life designer who expanded on her talents by coming into Second Life.  A creator of high fashion such as her famed Marie Antoinette line from late last year, she has now turned her talent towards hair.   

I recall a day…ok it was more than a day, actually about 2 years LOL..when I owned 90-100% of hairs in SL.  Wait…I was around even before prim hair.  Hey, we looked cute for what we had to work with!  Obviously the market has grown much larger than my pocketbook since then and I have to pick and choose now and I have learned the importance of demos, demos, demos.

Anyway, I saw the release of Digit’s first hair. The brand: NATURALe.  The style: Malibu.  I knew I had to try it.  I tp’ed in, grabbed some demos and tried to be all ninja-like in the crowd.   I think sometimes the problem with demo’s is that if they are in an off-beat color or something completely different than your usual shade(s), that it can influence whether you purchase or not.  Such was the case here, and though I admired the style overall, I didn’t feel it was for me.  This happens…hair can be like skin; the latest and greatest might be fantabulous on some, but just not work on others.  It’s not a knock against the creation, it just IS.

I don’t know if Digit is a mind-reader or not, but a couple days later she IM’ed me to say she had seen me come by and apologized for not having the chance to say hello before I “stealthed” my way out.   Graciously, she asked what colors I liked and passed me samples.  Let me tell you, it made all the difference in this case!

First I want to show the Wavy Malibu in Dark Ash Brown (and I must say I am impressed with Digit’s textures and the range of choices):

blog_DigitBrown

Malibu also comes in Straight and Curly, both  shown below in Charcoal Black:

blog_DigitBlack

While it would be nearly impossible for hair creators to provide demos in all colors, the lesson here is that if you are really attracted to a style and you have the $L to spare, well hell you only live once and it might be worth it to take a chance now and then!

Credits after the jump because this post is bigger than I meant already!

Credits:

  • Clothes: Rollneck Sweater in Golden Ochre by Relika Itamae of Relika, Matilin Pants in brown with slouchy prim legs by Nephilaine Protagonist of PixelDolls; Comfort: Jacket Rose by Neph of PixelDolls, Empire Belted Long Cami in burgandy by Neph of PixelDolls
  • Skin: Hybrid II: Enchanted, Face #5 by Santana Lumiere of Nevermore 
  • Shoes: Wedges CSJ Chellis-Black Leather by Skylar Pomeray of CSJ Designs
  • Accessories: Strung Leather Belt by Fallingwater Celladoor of Shiny Things; Leather Plate Wristbands in brown by Elikapeka Tiramisu of ETD, Signature Set (a freebie if I remember correctly??) by Jackal Ennui of Lassitude & Ennui

~QQ~

Leave a Reply

Categories

