Posted by: Madi | July 17, 2007

In Memoriam

Today, we lost a SecondLife friend, stori Knopfli, who succumbed to her fight against cancer. 

One of the things that I love about SecondLife is the ability to help others.  As an RL Relay For Lifer, the possibilities for this event and support of our beloved cancer survivors just seem endless to me.  A place where survivors can be what their idea of beautiful is, despite the fact that cancer has ravaged their RL body.  They can find community with other survivors from around the world and support each other in ways that were not possible before.

A few months ago, the Fashion Angels hosted a series of cancer surivivor makeovers as a way to honor and paper these awesome heroes, and to promote the American Cancer Society’s Look Good, Feel Better program.  Each of the angels was partnered with a cancer survivor, and we treated them to a makeover, head to toe.  We each met some amazing women out there on the grid and were each changed by their inspirational stories.

I was lucky enough to be paired with stori Knopfli, a uterine cancer survivor diagnosed in 2005.  Active in SL hosting events across the grid, stori was mom of 2 young SL daughters and what seemed to me like the life of the party.   I was shocked and saddened when Fayandria Foley contacted me with news of stori’s passing.

My fellow Angel, Kitty Lalonde, wrote eloquently about stori on her blog, sharing her experience during a photo shoot for stori’s makeover.  Kitty reminds us that there are ways to fight against cancer and we should all do something to make a difference.

stori was a Relay For Lifer, and I think put it best in her SL picks:  “For every person who has suffered with cancer and survived or was a caretaker for a loved one…Please help us raise money for the American Cancer Society…Every Linden is one more Linden closer to a cure.”

Elika Tiramisu might kill me for this, but I point you to her blog post where she mentions she will MATCH all donations to Relay For Life given at her store via the RFL kiosks.  I’m not going to tell you where and how to donate if you wish, but I’m just saying…. *smiles*  You said it, Elika and thank you for being such a hero.

I leave you with this.  I grow tired of losing friends to this disease.  I mourn the loss of my father, my grandfather to this disease.  However, I chose to turn that energy around and fight back, and I challenge you to do the same.  Visit the cancer.org website.  Call 800-ACS-2345.  Most importantly, get involved with Relay For Life www.slrfl.org.  Celebrate hope for a cure, remember lost loved ones, and by all means FIGHT BACK against the disease.

 As Kitty said, we hope you’ve found peace, stori and you will not be forgotten.

stori-good.jpg

Responses

  1. I do wish stori a happy third life, and i wish her peace and happiness.

  2. The energy and excitment she has with n her soul is so strong it popped right through to us here in SL too. What a gift to have shared with each of us! What a wonder way to have lived!

  3. Hello Madi

    Thank you so very much for sharing this and for sharing stori.

    I am in the Relay group so I can contribute and participate any way I can in SL.

    I am an Aussi ex UK girl who lost her beloved sister who had Leukaemia.

    I was able to give her my marrow (identical we were) and that saved her life.
    However, several years later she died as a result of effects of the radiation on her body.

    It touched my heart the way you told stori’s story and your part within that.

    Thank you 🙂
    Fen

  4. I’ve only been in Second Life for a couple of months and some how I ended up at SL Playground one night. Stori and Kat kept me rolling the whole time. I only spoke with her a few times but she made an impression on me. She will be missed.

    Bram

  5. I am shocked to hear the sad news. I hope she found peace during her last hours and my condolences to her family and friends.

  6. Ninja and I were so saddened to hear the news this evening. We send all of our love and condolences to her family and friends in both RL and SL. May she finally rest peacefully.

  7. Stori was a great girl i dj with her several time.. she was always happy and welling to help even the day old avatar.. she was the best. Me and anyone that knew her will true miss her and she will never be forgeten….. We Love you Stori

  8. stori is my best friend, not just in SL but RL as well. She was always there for me. It means alot all the wonderful things people have said about her since her passing. stori died from Diabetic Ketoacidosis onset Diabetic Coma. She was a fighter, having beat cancer and lived over 2 yrs cancer free. stori Knopfli will live forever in my heart!!! I love you dear friend and I will miss you until we meet again.

  9. My condolences to family and friends of stori. Thanks for posting this Madi. *Hugs* to you Dion and to her children and family.

  10. i didnt know her but this post touched my heart
    my condolences to her family and friends
    i believe in a 3rd life so stori is an angel now and will always keep an eye on her family and friends
    and to everyone out there in the big world of SL donate to RFL even if its just 1 Linden dollar


Leave a Reply

Categories

