Posted by: Queenie Extraordinaire | August 22, 2007

So, what’s your poison?

This past week during my free time I have been digging around my inventory mixing some old stuff with some new stuff and noticed an emerging theme after two outfits–rocker chic, the 80’s way.  So I went with it and did two more.  The possibilities of this style are endless for me, so this might become a regular not-so-regular (I hate to commit myself LOL) blog theme.

blog_rockerchic

With many slices of 80’s fashion infiltrating the RL scene, naturally we are seeing this revival around SL as well.   During the 80’s I was just a few years too young to experience it at it’s height.  At 8 years old, I was the biggest Madonna freak (stop laughing!); at 10, I wanted to be Molly Ringwald just so I could kiss Judd Nelson; at 13, I swore I would someday marry Vince Neil (boy am I glad I didn’t persue that, have you seen his current wife?).  Then grunge came. Grrrr!  That didn’t stop me, even though I wore flannel shirts 2 years before it was cool. 

Entering high school in 1990, my typical attire included a long, black leather coat, Iron Maiden tee, skull-print leggings and slouchy, suede boots.  I was about 4 years too late, but I didn’t give a hoot and to this day Rob Halford is still a god and Sebastian Bach is an eternal hottie.

Now you can find Iron Maiden shirts in Saks 5th Avenue–I saw it with my own eyes, didn’t dare look at the price tag.  Suede slouch boots are back in fashion, skulls are on everything including pink sweater vests (like, gag me with a spoon!), cheap silver metal bangles are everywhere, and the one fad I thought would never be remotely acceptable, let alone cool, again–leggings under mini’s.   I just hope huge, feathered hair doesn’t come back because I sold off my stock in Aqua Net years ago.   That reminds me, I should really apologize to my parents for having to change the wallpaper in the bathroom due to the massive hairspray build-up.

So while the designer’s featured in the post may or may not have meant to become part of my “I Love the 80’s” flashback…deal with it LOL  In these days of couture madness, here’s my rebel yell…and I cried: more, more, more!

Favorite 80’s quote, can you name the movie? (*hint: it’s referenced a couple times in this post):

School would probably [expletive deleted] shut down if you didn’t show up!  ‘Queenie isn’t here!’

On to the outfit details!

Left to right:

  • To Shreds top by Janie Marlowe of Mischief (comes with optional tank tops, long and short, plus pants)
  • Sculptie sleeves from Gimme Shelter Hoodie by Janie Marlowe of Mischief
  • BabyZebra print jeans by Sioxie Legend of Second Wave Apparel
  • Belt from the Farrah outfit by Astry Mirabeau of Digital Knickers
  • Glass Chunk Necklace by Fallingwater Celladoor of Shiny Things
  • Felicia hair by Elikapeka Tiramisu of ETD
  • Wrapped Stiletto Boots by Fallingwater Celladoor of Shiny Things
  • Top, prim collar and belt from the Farrah outfit by Astry Mirabeau of Digital Knickers
  • Bronze Snakeskin Leather Pants by Digit Darkes of X3D
  • Chunky Heart Necklace by Pearlie Pedro of Miam Miam
  • Gwenyth hair by Carryn Concord of Tickled Pink
  • Grace Heels by Onyx Leshelle of Maitreya
  • Coco-Nuts Bracelet Stack by Veronyka Heckroth of Frustrated Inc.
  • Asian tat by Carmilla Mirabeau of Isle’s Ink
  • Tintable Buttonup top (from the men’s section) by Chloris Hathor of G.L.A.M.
  • Taggy Tank by Emma Gilmour of Sand Shack Surf Co.
  • Silver Jeans-Charcoal by Chloris Hathor of G.L.A.M.
  • Stiletto Sneakers by Carryn Concord of Tickled Pink
  • Rumor hair by Stumbelina Ophelia of Cake
  • Tintable Skull Armwarmers by Veronyka Heckroth of Frustrated Inc.
  • Iron Cross belly chain by Astry Mirabeau of Digital Knickers
  • Glass Chunk Necklace by Fallingwater Celladoor of Shiny Things
  • Zip Me Up denim skirt/top by Janie Marlowe of Mischief
  • Angelina hair by Aden Breyer of Aden
  • Gothic Cowboy hat by Siyu Suen of Illusions
  • Legwarmers and Fishnets from the 80’s Outfit by Kaysha Sion of WRONG
  • Calf Boots by Elikapeka Tiramisu of ETD
  • Conch Belt by Astry Mirabeau of Digital Knickers
  • Sculpted Velvet Gloves by Nephilaine Protagonist of PixelDolls
  • Laced Choker by Kylarai Hayek of i-Candy
  • Skin-Jessica Tan in Peach by Stumbelina Ophelia of Cake

Do i win a SLurl award?

~QQ~

Responses

  1. Haha I thought I was the only one who still had the hots for Sebastian Bach!

  2. That would be The Breakfast Club, I believe.

    I watched that movie EVERY DAY for 2 years when I was 11, along with Just One of the Guys and Valley Girl (They were all on one VHS).

    I hope it’s that, since I’m long since 11 years old and college killed plenty of braincells. 😉

  3. LOL Phoenix, no you are not alone 😉

    Yes, Kesseret, was most definitely The Breakfast Club. I think I saw it as many times as you…at one time I was able to recite the entire movie lmao

    ~QQ~

  4. The Breakfast Club was/is my favorite teen movie of them all. I can practically quote parts of it 🙂

    I like the fourth look best, but they all are awesome *g*

  5. You made me burst out laughing with your comment about apologizing to your parents for having to change the wallpaper due to hairspray buildup! I too was an Aqua Net addict and I remember the buildup from it..on the walls, the mirror, the sink, everywhere! That was some powerful stuff. Do they even still make it? If not, they’ll have to go back into business if the 80’s hair styles come back! Thanks for the laugh!

  6. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this web site before but after going through some of the articles I realized it’s new to me.

    Regardless, I’m certainly delighted I discovered it and I’ll be bookmarking it and
    checking back frequently!

  7. Aw, this was a very nice post. Taking the time and actual effort to create a top notch article… but what can I say… I
    hesitate a lot and don’t manage to get nearly anything done.

  8. When someone writes an post he/she keeps the idea of a user in his/her brain that how a user can understand it.
    Thus that’s why this piece of writing is perfect. Thanks!

  9. Hi friends, its great piece of writing on the topic of teachingand completely defined, keep it up all the time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

